Fraud Blocker Gilroy’s Saldate picked for Pittsburgh Wrestling Classic – Tri-Titans Skip to content
Previous article
Now Reading:
Gilroy’s Saldate picked for Pittsburgh Wrestling Classic
Next article

Gilroy’s Saldate picked for Pittsburgh Wrestling Classic

Gilroy High senior Chase Saldate will wrestle in Saturday’s 45th annual Pittsburgh Wrestling Classic.

The annual all-star event, formerly known as the Dapper Dan Classic, pits a squad of Pennsylvania all-stars against a team of elite wrestlers from across the country.

The meet will take place Saturday at 6 p.m. eastern time at the University of Pittsburgh’s Fitzgerald Field House. It will be preceded by a match between a WPIAL All-Star squad and a team of top Maryland wrestlers.

Saldate was triumphant this past month in capturing a CIF state championship at 152-pounds. As a two-time state medalist with a career record of 149-14, Saldate will meet up with Ed Scott from Dubois Area High School in, DuBois, Pennsylvania., was a two-time state champion with a career record of 151-6. Saldate, a Michigan State recruit, is ranked No. 1 in the nation at 152 by Intermat; Scott, a North Carolina State signee, is ranked No. 3.

United States All-Star Team

120—Ryan Miller, Blair Academy, N.J. (113-13)

126—Eddie Ventresca, Pope Paul XXIII, NJ (156-17)

132—Dominick Serrano, Windsor, CO (168-0)

138—Cael Happel, Lisbon, IA (217-5)

138—Frankie Tal-Shahar, American Heritage, FL (175-13)

145—Austin Boone, Lowell, MI (159-8)

152—Chase Saldate, Gilroy, CA (149-14)

160—Keegan O’Toole, Arrowhead, WI (157-5)

170—Gavin Kane, Cambridge, GA (167-2)

182—John Poznanski, Colonia, NJ (155-12)

195—Gabe Christenson, Southeast Polk, IA (156-23)

195—Silas Allred, Shenandoah, IN (144-2)

220—Braxton Amos, Parkersburg South, WV (142-0)

Pennsylvania All-Star Team

120—Sheldon Seymour, Troy (141-13)

126—Kurtis Phipps, Norwin (153-10)

132—Kenny Herrmann, Bethlehem Catholic (152-35)

138—Sam Hillegas, North Hills (157-5)

138—Beau Bartlett, Wyoming Seminary (177-9)

145—Lachlan McNeil, Wyoming Seminary (59-8)

152—Ed Scott, DuBois (151-6)

160—Andrew Cerniglia, Notre Dame Green Pond (121-17)

170—Tyler Stoltzfus, Saint Joseph’s Catholic (165-26)

182—Gerrit Nijenhuis, Canon-McMillan (181-16)

195—Luke Stout, Mt. Lebanon (153-16)

195—Gage Garcia, Southern Columbia (163-6)

220—Hunter Catka, Sun Valley (134-9)

Former California wrestler participating in this event

2017 – Justin Mejia (Clovis)

2017 – Quentin Hovis (Poway)

2014 – Nick Nevills (Clovis)

2013 – Isaiah Martinez (Lemoore)

2011 – Bryce Hammond (Bakersfield)

2011 – Morgan McIntosh (Calvary Chapel/SA)

2008 – Thomas Williams (South Hills)

2008 – Jason Welch (Las Lomas)

2004 - Nathan Morgan (Bakersfield)

2002 – Darrell Vasquez (Bakersfield)

2001 – Alex Tirapelle (Clovis)

1997 – Ty Wilcox (Calvary Chapel/SA)

1994 – Casey Strand (College Park)

1986 – Trent Barnes (Clovis West)

1979 – Joe Guinn (Rancho Cotate)

1977 – Dave Schultz (Palo Alto)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published..



Your cart is currently empty.

Start Shopping

Select options